Papa de Rola cross

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Papa de Rola cross

I've been growing these out for a couple of years now. I started off sowing a couple of off type seeds in 2010 from a packet of Papa de Rola beans, bought from Baker Creek. I labelled them as Dark Papa, and have 'assumed' them to be F2's, no photo sorry, but they were similar in colour to the F3 though rounder in shape, somewhere between Papa de Rola and F3 shape.

What Papa's should look like and F3 and F4 from the 'Dark Papa' seed.
    010-001 by jayb 35, on Flickr

F4 seeds
    012-001 by jayb 35, on Flickr

Overall a shelling bean, predominately climbers, though some only 4-5 foot or so.

Aren't they gorgeous!

Comment

I reckon. A bit of shiny bead syndrome, I have it bad!
      I've got some of these to pod today, way excited to see what's inside

Comment

I love the variety of colours there. Looking forward to seeing what's in the pods!

Comment

Oh yes - Shiny Bean Syndrome is a well known disease and there is no cure.

What is really interesting that the clear delineation between pattern and white background is not there in the F3 and 4. I actually doubt their relationship with Papa de Rola. Neither is the shape of PDR seeds present in the F3 although maybe in some in the F4. Did you say that these were odd 'bonus seeds' in the original packet?

Some of the F3 seeds look like they have an extra colour compared to the F4. That is a sign of a recently crossed bean. The number of colours in bean seeds gets fewer as beans start to change towards a stable new variety. I have seen this before with one of the ever-changing Georgian beans (that don't seem to ever stabilise.)

Comment

• Galina
            Galina commented
            Editing a comment
            The bean cross reminds me of Azul y Rosa (blue and pink), see here - (the spelling of the name is suspect, but I can't find it anywhere else at the mo)