Growing a tasty compact chilli

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Growing a tasty compact chilli

I absolutely love chillis and grow a fair few. We tried dwarf/ patio varieties two years ago....very nice but tend to be quite fiery.

I fancy crossing one of the varieties we use for Mexican cooking to try and get that taste and a compact habit. Pasilla Bajio Is a favourite, with a nice Rich flavour/ medium hot but gets to 32 inches high and a spread of about 25 inches.

I am tempted to try and cross with one of my F1 dwarves, which are 14 inch eight and spread. Both are Capsicum annuum.

I'm very new to this, so all suggestions/ comments welcome

That sounds very interesting! Looking forward to seeing how you get on.

Comment

Crossing using an F1 will give quite a jiggle of genes and you can start to select the resulting offspring in the F1 stage as it is not a stable cross and will already be segregating. Offspring can take longer to grow out to stability and in some cases it might be harder to select for the traits you want. So good in one way - the two of you can start selecting next year and go from there.

Another idea you might like to try is to save selfed seeds from a dwarf F1 type you like and grow it out until stable, each time selecting from your favourite plant/s with the traits you like best. It's often said don't grow saved seeds from an F1 plant as they won't be any good. In most cases I disagree with that, F1's are often bred from highly tuned breeding lines, often similar in type to get the results/traits needed into the F1 variety. This can then be used to select for suitable traits you are looking for and I think many of the plants you grow from saved seed would be quite similar to the parent. They might not better the parent but be of a good enough standard you want to keep selecting from them.

Comment