Oca seeds offered

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oca seeds offered

I've been lucky enough to harvest more seed than I'll need for next year, if anyone fancies some to grow. It'll be a mix mostly from the seed sown Oca's I grew this year, should be a nice varied mix.

If you have spare, I'd be interested but as I'm a novice I quite understand/ step to one side for others. Who are more experienced.

What sort of seed are you looking for?

Comment

I'm not looking for anything in exchange thanks. You are welcome to some seeds but perhaps for this year some tubers of trial oca varieties would be more productive. I shared 3 varieties with last years seed Circle, that were all very productive for me. These might be a good starting point?

Comment

All three of the seed circle varieties have sprung into new growth here with Bracelet and especially Redley already turning into plants. Just moved them in their 9cm pots to the greenhouse yesterday to harden off before finally planting outside. One of Silverleaf's varieties also has burst into making a plant, the other two are showing tiny shoots. I have kept my pot with the oca seeds frostfree over winter, but no further plants have emerged and I don't know whether they still could, but I have kept the pot just in case. My new varieties are also ready to plant into pots together with the New Zealand Red and the best of my 'old' pink and red unnamed tubers. There will be a good row of oca here. Growing from seed it fun, but they are slow to emerge and a bit erratic. Maybe it is just brown thumb here. The seeds are tiny and you need a microscope for the emerging plants initially. Once past frost they are as tough as old boots. I think I reported in trials that the cuttings did not survive winter in the frost-free conservatory (neither did the ulluco) but each cutting produced a tiny tuber before it faded away and one produced two.

Comment