Hello from Scotland

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Scotland

Hello, I’m Steph, from Scotland. I’ve been growing veg for a few years and just getting into veg seed saving (always saved flower seeds).
    I’ve read Sue Stickland’s book and some websites. I’m from a farming/biology background so familiar with veg families, viable populations, isolation distances, hand pollination, etc.,

I have grown several varieties of different veg this year with a view to finding/making isolated plots next year to let them flower and start a seed library. Several each of Beetroot, carrot, parsnip, other brassicas, etc., along with some annuals this year, peas, beans, toms, with mixed success! Pumpkins and butternut squash failed. (It was a very cold spring and short summer here).

Cucumbers did well, just taken seed out of first one and have a question which I hope someone can help with?
    The cucumber seeds vary in size, should I only keep the larger ones or are they all viable? (I can do a germination test but thought I’d just ask people who already know.) thanks in advance and looking forward to finding out more on your forum.

Hello Steph, welcome! It's great to have a new member, and from another climate/region of the UK, too!

Hope your biennial veg overwinters well and that you get a great seed crop next year. Which peas/beans/toms did you grow? It certainly hasn't been an easy year.

Sometimes not all cucumber seed is 'filled'. These empty seeds are much lighter and should winnow away easily.

Comment

• Galina
      Galina commented
      Editing a comment
      Indeed. Or float on top, if you immerse all seeds very briefly.

I'd like to welcome you too. It's great to have interest from a new quarter. Good luck with your seed-saving endeavours. Your background should help a great deal.